Sometimes Freedom Stinks!

surprise-face-300x264In case you haven’t noticed, I am a dude. I am dude of dudes and this dude enjoys being a dude. One of the few pleasures of being a divorced dude is that I can freely be said dude most of the time without concern for being found out to be a brutish dude. For those of you who do not understand what I mean by that, let me enlighten you.

WARNING: This post is very much a male-driven post. For females who might have weak stomachs when a man is, well – a man – consider yourselves warned. #smileyface #winkwinkWhen this dude is alone in his natural habit I am free to to be…well…a dude. I can burp, pass gas, pick my nose (I totally don’t do that…I don’t know why I even said that…*said sheepishly*), and yes pee in the shower and walk around the house in my underwear (or less). al-bundyNow, I can’t have a discussion on my dudeness without saying I have actually foregone stopping at a store to go to the bathroom and instead utilized an empty large coffee cup as I drove down the road. Yes I have and let’s just say I won’t be doing that again! Peeing in a cup while driving is an art reserved only for those very talented men and I am not part of that club. * shakes head*

Hey, I warned you ladies. Didn’t I? I am the king of transparency right now. Whether that is a good thing or not, only history will tell.

So anyway, I have thoroughly enjoyed my freedom to be a dude over the past few years, the sense of relaxation is amazing. I no longer have to hold in certain body functions for fear of my wife hearing them, or smelling them as the case may be. I simply go with the flow of nature. To add the icing on my cake, since I work in the home improvement industry with a bunch of men who also are dudes, I am free to go with it, twenty four seven. It’s awesome!

However, over the past few weeks I have begun noticing something quite disturbing. Because of my freedom to let it all hang out when I am alone, I have abandoned the constant awareness of when others are around me. What I mean is I have recently found myself burping in public, or when I am with my girlfriend (sorry babe), without even realizing I did it out loud. This is not an involuntary response that happens as you get older but simply a habitual one to which, when I realize what I have done it, becomes a very embarrassing moment. Not to mention, I feel very bad for subjecting others to my sonic-boom-like noises. Trust me, I am not one who can burp and it not be heard over a three county radius. EVERYONE in the room turns.371750563-picard-facepalm

Sometimes freedom can be a bad thing.

I guess that is what Paul was talking about when he said, “All things are lawful to me but not all things are expedient. All things are lawful, but I will not be brought under the power of anything” ( 1 Cor 6:12) While he probably was not talking about burping and passing gas you get the picture. Living alone, I am free to let nature reign in my life but it may not be that smart of me to not keep nature under control. After all I am a dude but I do not want to be a brute which I am in danger of being looked upon as should I not reign in my bodily functions.. I know, I know, it doesn’t matter what others think of you…unless they look at you and form an opinion of Christ, in that case it ABSO-TA-LUTELY matters what others think of you!

Our bodies are not our own. They were made by God and for God. They were made to bring glory and honor to His name and how we use them, in part, shows how important God is to us. If we use our freedom, at the risk of offending others or showing them an incorrect image of Christ, then we are not glorifying God and that my friend goes against our TRUE nature, the nature of Christ!

So, with that said, I am going to reign in my freedom because sometimes freedom stinks! Haha!

Have you had times in your life when your lack of restraint has caused you to cast a poor light on the image of Christ inside you? Maybe what you did was perfectly within the realm of okay but just not “expedient”. I would love to hear about it and how you handled it.

Until next time…

Peace, Love, and Awakening!

Signature

p.s. I did not burp, pass gas, or perform any other bodily function while typing this. See, I’m already showing improvement! Bahaha!

Do you like what you read here on Wannabe Hero? Please help me out by sharing it on Facebook and Twitter or other social media platforms. Also I would love to have you follow Lee Lumley Ministries on Facebook. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

