Do I Really Have to Brush My Teeth?

Brush Your Teeth

Have you ever woke up and just not wanted to brush your teeth? Oh, come on, I can’t be the only one who feels that way! Really? I am? Well, that’s awkward. Momma always said I was stranger than a three legged cat wearing a turtle shell and smoking a cigar.

So, anyway, as I am getting…umm…slightly more mature these days, I am finding that my body is rebelling. I’m serious you guys, I hurt in places I didn’t know I had…or could it be I forgot I had? Hmm, so I wake up in the morning and my knees are hurting, my back is usually feeling like I have been imitating a contortionist all night long, and even my eyes hurt. I put my work clothes on, go down stairs scratching my beard, and…err…other parts unknown. As I walk in the bathroom I see my toothbrush and I think to myself, “I work with a bunch of guys who chew dip, does it really matter if I brush my teeth? I could just gargle some Listerine and I would still be ahead of the game”. Yes, that really happens to me.

Think about it, life would be so much easier if we just didn’t have to brush our teeth. I mean the strength it takes to pick up the brush, squeeze the tube, raise it up to our mouth, and push the “on” button, not to mention keeping that buzzing projectile of doom under control…sheesh, that thing is dangerous! Think of what could be done with all that energy; fossil fuels would no longer be needed, the nations would find peace, men would enjoy talking to their wives more than watching football, kids would go outside and play and never touch an electronic device again (except to read my blog. Way to go kids!), and we would have more time to weave baskets…because that’s what the world needs, more straw baskets!

So, do I really have to brush my teeth?

Isn’t that the way it with our daily time with God? To be honest, some days I wake up knowing how desperately I need to spend time with God. The day before just about kicked my butt and I am running on fumes but the alarm goes off and my body screams, “Shut up you annoying purveyor of broken sleep!”. (My body is very angry at times. smh) So, I pick the alarm clock up off the floor, which is where it landed when I gave it a “love tap” the moment prior, and clicked the snooze button. I close my eyes and the next thing I know, it is time to get up and BRUSH MY TEETH! (Sheesh this day is killing me and I haven’t even gotten out of bed!)

Needless to say, I walk out the door, right past my Bible, get in my car and head to work and on the way I say a quick, “Thank you Lord for this day”. Boy oh boy do I feel it throughout the day. The least little thing sets me off. I hit my thumb and say, “Dad blast it!”, well, you know, something like that. I find myself thinking of things that would make a sailor blush and when someone does something wrong, instead of being Christ to them, I give them the “what for”.

Our time with God and in His Word is so necessary, more so than brushing our teeth, and yet…

Peace, Love, and Awakening!

Signature

Hey, I could really use your help. Please share this post on your Facebook  and Twitter to tell your friends about Confessions of a Wannabe Hero. Also, if you want to here more from Lee, be sure to follow Lee Lumley Ministries.

5 thoughts on “Do I Really Have to Brush My Teeth?

  1. That’s super interesting! I always have to brush my teeth no matter what! I hate that morning breath I carry every morning!

    I think it’s good to develop habits, like spending time with God. But some habit we should quit because maybe it’s not so great for our lifestyles.

    I smiled throughout this post! Thanks for posting! 🙂 I hope the pain goes away somehow. You’ll be in my prayers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it Sayl. I forgot to add the disclaimer: “No teeth were left unbrushed for this post” Haha! I think about it from time to time but just can’t do it.

      The pain isn’t quiet as bad, I had to emphasize some things dramatic effect, but I am getting older and it’s scary how painful that is at times! lol!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

