When You’ve Got Nothing Good to Say, Say Something!

I am sitting here in my recliner where I just finished reading a few chapters in the book of Isaiah which is one of my favorite books, just sayin’. I have a big, soft, fluffy blanket laying over my legs which my girlfriend gave me for Christmas. I have a blanket on my legs in the middle of summer because I like to keep my air on the Turbo Antarctic setting that way I can cozy up in my recliner and read with said blanket over my legs without sweating like an eighty pound super lightweight boxer in the locker room before his fight with Evander Holyfield. I am literally trying to keep my eyes open because it is only eight pm and if I fall asleep now, I will be wide awake in three to four hours and won’t be able to fall back asleep until around three am (I know this from much experience).

typingAs I sit here, with my laptop doing what laptops do, I type something, look at it, backspace to blank screen, type something else, look at it, backspace, rinse and repeat, over and over as my eyes slowly fade to black. It is a very aggravating state and all I keep thinking about is the old saying, “If you don’t have anything good to say, then say nothing at all”

I can’t tell you how many times I have heard this saying. If I had a penny for every time…well, I’d have a lot of good things to say! This blog would have an article for every day and, heck if I hit writer’s block I could simply hire a ghost writer and you all would be none the wiser! But what happens when you want to type the Good News but the words just don’t come?

Let’s face it, there are times when we cannot seem to find the words to say or maybe we have the words floating around in our head but can’t seem to pull them out and put them together in a way that makes a logical progression of thought provoking commentary. Maybe we are tired, frustrated from the day, worried about a future event, insecure about our ability to speak the Good News, or a multitude of other reasons for writer’s block. Maybe, we are just lazy. No matter the maybe, there are hundreds of things that hinder us from proclaiming the Good News, that is if we allow them to hinder us.

The truth is, the Good News is so simple even the most non-eloquent of men can proclaim it. God promises, “My word shall not return to me void but shall accomplish what I please” (Isaiah 55:1…I told you I like Isaiah.) So maybe on these days when writer’s block kicks in, and I seem to have nothing of worth to say, I should ignore that saying and just say something.

The truth is, God loved world so much He sent His son. His son spent His life and ministry healing the sick, raising the dead, and being a friend to the outcast. He then suffered inhumane torture at the hands of the Romans because the religious hypocrites couldn’t stand what He represents…grace. He carried His cross up a hill, willing laid down upon it, felt the excruciating pain as nails were driving into his hands and feet, asked God to forgive those who brought this pain upon Him, died, rose again, and calls us to receive His free gift of salvation asking nothing more than faith and following.

Could it be that writer’s block is simply God’s way of forcing me to depend less upon my (hopefully) eloquent speech and cunning ability to captivate an audience and instead depend upon the foolish simplicity of the Gospel message?

Maybe, when it comes to proclaiming the Good News, my motto should be, “If you don’t have anything good say, say something!” because even a rehashed, slightly uninspired, retelling of the greatest story ever told is going to bring beauty into the lives of the hurting!

Well, would you look at that, it is now 9:23 pm so…

Peace, Love, and Awakening!

2 thoughts on “When You’ve Got Nothing Good to Say, Say Something!

Leave a Reply

