And God Waits…

I am exhausted. I was awake for twenty-two hours yesterday. Twenty of those hours were spent either working or driving to and from job sites. I left my house yesterday at 6:45 am and got home this morning at 4:00 am. It is currently 9:46 am and I have been up since 7:00 so I am operating off of three hours sleep. Never mind the fact that I only got four hours sleep the night before. I will say it again, I am exhausted! I’m also frustrated, a little moody…eh, angry might be a better word, and confused out of my mind. I mean, I seriously can’t think straight.

It began early this morning as we were making the three hour drive home. The route we took went straight through the town I lived in for six years and much of it was the exact route I drove for two years to and from work every day as we were working right next door to one of my former stores. Yet, I could not keep my bearings straight. This was not good considering I was the ship’s navigator so to speak. A couple of times we had to stop, turn around, and get back on course. GPS might would have been a better navigator but, “don’t worry I know this town like the back of my hand!”. Lol!

We stopped at one point to buy some coffee. I am certain the cashier probably thought I was smashed of my gourd from alcohol. I was swaying to and fro as I walked, my speech was slow and a bit slurred, and when he handed me my bag, I dropped it on the floor. It was not a good night for me…though my coworkers had quite a laugh, I’m sure.

What to do? What to do?

Right now I am beginning to feel a little bit sleepy but I have so much I want to accomplish today; write some blog posts, cut my aunt’s grass, run by a man’s house I have been doing some side work at to get paid, help my beautiful girlfriend as she begins moving her classroom down the hall, paint her mom’s cornice boards, the list goes on and on, so I am fighting sleep like a three year old at a daycare when there is a world of discovery outside.

Man sitting by the beachThroughout the account of Jesus’ life we see time and time again when he “went up on the mountain to pray”. He knew the limitations of his earthly body and He knew when his earthly body is worn out, it is absolutely necessary to take time out and renew himself. What better way to do that than to speak to God? It is in God’s presence all things are made new. It is in God’s presence the weak are strengthened. It is in God’s presence faith is renewed. It is in God’s presence new mercies are found and passion is renewed.

Right now, I can’t really say I am passionate. I am honestly quite lethargic. I read a couple of chapters of Nehemiah but my body is screaming put the Bible down and go to sleep! Maybe I should. However, maybe what I need more than sleep is to be hungry. Hungry for God. Hungry for His presence. Hungry for food and rest that this earthly body knows nothing of. More than writing his blog post, cutting my aunt’s grass, getting paid for my work last week, helping my girlfriend and her mom, – maybe, just maybe – what I need is to sit and rest in my Father’s presence. To pour the oil of my exhaustion on Him and have Him pour the oil of His Spirit on me.

They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength. They shall mount up with wings as eagles, the shall run and not be weary, they shall walk an not faint” Isaiah 40:31

So, I sit here with my Bible open and leaning against my stomach – while I type this blog post – and God waits…while I keep doing everything, except what I know I need to do…

 

Peace, Love, (hopefully some sleep), and Awakening!

Signature

work desk

Want to see more from Lee? Be sure to follow Lee Lumley Ministries on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

